XM Radio Mon-Tues

Monday, February 5th, 2007

Monday A.M. (Begins 6 am Eastern, 3 am Pacific)—Vocal favorites: choral, lieder, chanson, oratorio, opera arias and more. 

20th Century Monday: (begins noon eastern, 9 am Pacific): Two by Stravinsky, Rake’s Progress & Oedipus Rex; between them we’ll hear Korngold’s remarkable Die tote Stadt, and we end it all with Bernstein’s Trouble in Tahiti. 

Monday Evensong (begins 6 pm eastern, 3 pm Pacific)—regular repeat of Sunday Choral Special.

Tuesday, February 6th, 2007

Tuesday A.M. (Begins 6 am Eastern, 3 am Pacific)—BOYCE: Ode for St. Cecilia’s Day ROBERTO SIERRA: Bayoan IVOR GURNEY: Songs. DELIUS: Song of the High Hills. RESPIGHI: Cinque canti all’antica Anon.: Three spirituals for chorus. SCHUBERT: Schwanengesang. STENHAMMAR: As You Like It RAVEL: Five Popular Greek melodies. WALTON: Songs after Edith Sitwell

 Big Ticket Tuesday (noon eastern, 9 am Pacific—repeats Friday 6 pm eastern)—In Memoriam Gian Carlo Menotti, Part 1:

  • –The Consul
  • –The Bishop of Brindisi
  • –The Medium
  • –Amahl and the Night Visitors
  • –Two Carmelite Cantatas
  • –Missa “O Pulchritudo”

Tuesday Night at the Opera—WFMT/European Opera Premiere:

Bayreuth 2006—Siegfried

That will be followed by the comic opera of Franz Joseph Haydn all about couples stranded on a deserted isle, L’Isola diabitata.

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Radio. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s