Domesticity rules!

Spent the morning and early afternoon baking the first two loaves

[because of my newest nephew Mr L’s arrival on Dec 23rd all my plans pre Christmas went right out the window and then I had a major sinus infection Thu-Sat).  so that brings us to shopping for baking goods on New Year’s Eve (NOT something i EVER want to repeat) and baking today…and tomorrow and…]

Here is one of them (delivered to my sister)

IMG_1679

and opened.

IMG_1680

It’s Orange Cranberry Walnut Bread.

And now I have to find more cranberries as the STORE was OUT (can’t even imagine why) – I had two bags squirrelled in the freezer thank goodness.  The other loaf baked today went to my landlord – who obligingly stopped by thus saving me a trip. 

The rest go to neighbors and the postman.  Its a great bread – I made one Saturday night to test it out as its a slightly different version than one I made years ago – but for finding the cranberries.  Ohh well, i may substitute blueberries instead or raspberries or strawberries? 

Anyway, spent the afternoon and evening at my sister’s house (she of the new baby) .  Mr W, the big brother, has been under the weather for the last few days – a little fever and not feeling good – so he was in his pyjamas all day.  But he was feeling well enough to play trains with me while we waited for dinner to cook – we had roasted chicken, black-eyed peas and rice and a spinach salad.    The newborn Mr L, slept thru most of this until, of course, Mr W’s bedtime and then it was feeding time.   I left around 9 as Mr W was still being visited in bed in turn by my sister and b-in-law.  Poor thing, its hard to be sick at almost-three-years-old.    Fingers crossed that he sleeps thru the night tonight as he didnt the last two nights. 

Feast your eyes on this face – beatific non?

IMG_1700

As for knitting – I am finishing the LASTgift and then will be FINALLY mailing everything on WED now that the post office is closed Tuesday for President Ford’s Funeral.   Photos in the next few days.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

