US Open – Agassi’s Curtain Call

 “The scoreboard said I lost today,” Agassi told the crowd. “But what the scoreboard doesn’t say is what it is I have found. Over the last 21 years, I have found loyalty. You have pulled for me on the court and also in life. I found inspiration. You have willed me to succeed, sometimes even in my lowest moments.

“And I’ve found generosity. You have given me your shoulders to stand on, to reach for my dreams, dreams I could never have reached without you. Over the last 21 years, I have found you, and I will take you and the memory of you with me for the rest of my life.”

 US Open – Sports – New York Times Blog.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to US Open – Agassi’s Curtain Call

  1. Will says:

    The career has been a remarkable journey not only of victories in a highly competitive sport, but from a frequently crude and fractious public style to the heartfelt graciousness he shows in this farewell statement.

    Like

  2. sogalitno says:

    Beautifully written. I agree with you.
    He has been a model for how a person can grow into being a human being.

    Like

Leave a Reply

