Lieberson Part II Tribute on VOX on Sunday

Sunday Choral Special (6 am eastern August 13th, repeats Monday at 6 pm, Tuesday night midnight eastern, 9 pm Pacific): Feast of the Assumption—Settings of texts in praise of the Virgin Mary, including Ave Maria settings by: anon. (plainchant), Brahms, Lauridsen, Conte, Rachmaninov, Fiocco, Bruckner, Josquin, Verdi, Palestrina, Mouton, Victoria, Cornyshe, Lobo, Janacek, Keller, Charpentier, Parsons, Mendelssohn, Biebl, Holst, Bach/Gounod, Schubert, Tromboncino, Rheinberger, and Poulenc. 

Sunday Baroque (begins noon eastern, 9 am): Cavalli’s La Calisto and Antonio Vivaldi’s Farnace. 

Lorraine Hunt Lieberson, Part II (begins noon eastern, 9 am Pacific, Tuesday August 15th; repeat Friday 6 pm eastern, 3 pm Pacific and Saturday noon )—Bach Cantata 82, Ich habe genug; the title role in William Christie and Les Art Florissants’ marvelous production of Marc-Antoine Charpentier’s Medee; the performance of John Adams’ “Nativity for the New Century,” El Nino with the hand-picked cast that included Dawn Upshaw and Willard White; and, finally, the Rilke songs set by her husband Peter Lieberson. 

Big Ticket Tuesday Special (6 pm eastern, 3 pm Pacific–repeats Wednesday at noon, 9 am Pacific, special repeat Friday noon eastern, 9 am Pacific)—Martin Goldsmith Birthday Special—By Martin’s request, the Sutherland/Pavarotti Rigoletto; Antonio Salieri’s La grotta di Trifonio (world-premiere recording); Carl Nielsen’s Aladdin; and in honor of Martin’s baseball addiction, Robert Merrill singing the Brooklyn Baseball Cantata. 

Wednesday Evensong Special (8:00 pm eastern, August 16th, 2006, 5:00 pm Pacific; repeats Sat. 8:00 am, 5:00 am Pacific):  The Vocal Scene with George Jellinek: “Bellini and the Art of Bel Canto;”

On Wings of Song (PREMIERE—8:59 eastern, 5:59 Pacific)—From the Marilyn Horne Foundation, a celebration of the art song and the young singers who aspire to be the next generation of interpreters—this week, tenor John Matz.

Millennium of Music (9:59) “Jacob Obrecht’s Missa Fortuna desperata” 

Wagner Thursday (noon eastern, 9 am Pacific Aug. 17th, special repeat Saturday at 6 pm eastern, 3 pm Pacific): The 1951 Furtwangler/La Scala Die Walkure , followed by a VERY light piece of operetta, Reginald de Koven’s Robin Hood  (big hit: “Oh, Promise Me”).

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s