VOX Part 2 Tribute to Elisabeth Schwarzkopf (Friday)

Wednesday Evensong Special  (8:00 pm eastern, August 9th, 2006, 5:00 pm Pacific; repeats Sat. 8:00 am, 5:00 am Pacific):

The Vocal Scene with George Jellinek: “Remembering Ljuba Welitsch;”

On Wings of Song (PREMIERE—8:59 eastern, 5:59 Pacific)—From the Marilyn Horne Foundation, a celebration of the art song and the young singers who aspire to be the next generation of interpreters—this week, baritone Nathaniel Webster.

Millennium of Music (9:58) “Forlana Consort”—This excellent Flemish vocal ensemble live in concert from the Corcoran Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C.

Wagner Thursday (begins noon eastern July 14th): The second opera (and a take on Shakespeare) –  Das Liebesverbot, is next, with the Ohio Light Opera production of Kalman’s Autumn Maneuvers and Dohnanyi’s witty Tante Simona.

Big Ticket Friday Special (noon eastern, 9 am Pacific–repeats Saturday at 6 pm, 3 pm Pacific; special repeat Monday noon eastern, 9 am Pacific)

Elizabeth Schwarzkopf, Part 2:  Another of her great collaborations with Herbert von Karajan, Johann Strauss’ Die Fledermaus; the great conductor André Cluytens in another match up between Schwarzkopf and Nicolai Gedda, The Tales of Hoffmann; and some of her great concert arias recordings, including Beethoven and Mozart.

 Robert Aubry Davis, Program Director, VOX

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s